Romans 1:8-15

First, I thank my God through Jesus Christ for all of you, because your faith is proclaimed in all the world. For God is my witness, whom I serve with my spirit in the gospel of his Son, that without ceasing I mention you 10 always in my prayers, asking that somehow by God’s will I may now at last succeed in coming to you. 11 For I long to see you, that I may impart to you some spiritual gift to strengthen you— 12 that is, that we may be mutually encouraged by each other’s faith, both yours and mine. 13 I do not want you to be unaware, brothers, that I have often intended to come to you (but thus far have been prevented), in order that I may reap some harvest among you as well as among the rest of the Gentiles. 14 I am under obligation both to Greeks and to barbarians, both to the wise and to the foolish. 15 So I am eager to preach the gospel to you also who are in Rome.

Romans 1:8-15 (ESV)

 

Paul is writing to the Christian believers in Rome.  While most faiths evolved over time, it appears that the Christian explosion began within the lifetimes of those who walked with Christ and witnessed his resurrection.  Rome was the New York City, Beijing, Mexico City, Rio De Janeiro, Tokyo, New Delhi, Moscow, Mecca, Dubai, London, Paris, Berlin, or Lagos of its day.  All roads led to Rome.  As I type from my breakfast table, that concept astounds me.  I sigh deeply and put my mind in another time and reflect on the peace bought by the brutality that was Rome.

Rome’s influence is hard for me to objectively appreciate as a Westerner – – it is too entwined in my history, culture, and language.  But lately, my friend Russell encouraged me to consider the sacred texts held by billions of others in the world.  I’m only a few hours into the study, but already it has been fruitful.  In the context of Paul’s letter I’ve learned that Greek, Latin, and Sanskrit are believed to share a common pre-written language called proto-Indo-European.  In India, as the Vedas were carefully passed down by Brahmin oral tradition and Shruti evolved to Smriti captured by written language I see a link to Paul.  In language, in content, a trace to the truth that Paul is declaring here.  I will maintain that all roads do not lead to God.  Only Christ leads to God.  But all roads can lead to Christ.

So the faith of Roman Christians being proclaimed broadly was not hyperbole.  It became true in Paul’s lifetime to the extent of Roman influence and in my lifetime it could be literally true enabled by electronic communication and jet travel.  I find the next verses challenging.  Do I constantly remember people in prayer?  Have I broken that promise too many times to count?  No and yes.  The Bible says elsewhere that it is better to not make a promise rather than to make one and break it.  I find then that I am reluctant to promise prayer for people.  I’m just not that consistent.  My main times of prayer are now – – the early morning, usually in writing, and on long slow runs.  Unlike my Muslim brothers I do not systematically offer prayers five times daily.  I am called to pray without ceasing – – maintain a constant conversation with God.  And I continue to fail.  I’m hoping that growth will continue, that if I write you for years I’ll be able to report that like Paul – – I pray continually for those whom God has trusted to me.  I pray for Russell and his family faithfully.  His name is written in the back of my Bible and on my heart.

Paul wants to see the believers in Rome.  This longing is validated in the book of Acts – – the history of the early church told by Paul’s travelling companion Luke.  Are there people I know of but have not met?  I suppose that the digital age we live in makes this easier to understand.  Say that you blog and that you enjoy deep conversations with others.  You are challenged and have the chance to challenge.  If you had the chance to share a meal, share hours of conversation, experience the 90% of communication that is non-verbal – – would you? Parts of Romans are spiritual – – parts very human – – I hope for discretion to parse the two.  In truth they may not need parsing – – love for others is a spiritual pursuit.  Paul did not view himself as a hero of faith.  He viewed himself as the chief of sinners – – one who approved of the murder of the early church’s first martyr.  He knew that the faith of those in Rome would encourage him too.  Our heroes of faith need encouragement.  Life is hard.

What did Paul mean when he said that he wanted to reap a harvest among them, as well as among the rest of the Gentiles?  Paul uses the very metaphor that Jesus did in Luke 8:4-8.  When Jesus explained this to his disciples he said that the harvest was realized in some who heard the good news:  “As for that in the good soil, they are those who, hearing the word, hold it fast in an honest and good heart, and bear fruit with patience.”  For anyone who shares her faith there are questions?  Am I faithfully presenting this?  Is my own failure getting in the way?  Will I ever see anyone believe?  The concept of sowing seed, watering the seed sowed by others, and sometimes seeing a harvest is helpful.  But Paul wanted the harvest.  Honestly, so do I.  If Russell will tolerate me for ten years I hope to see him come back to faith in Christ.  I’ll love him either way, but to say otherwise would be dishonest.

Paul was obliged.  There is a difference between an obligation and a burden.  My parents in their failing health were concerned that they were a burden to me and my family.  I found, still find, myself in the famous sandwich years where both parents and children need support.  But they were not a burden any more than my children were a burden or than I was a burden in the days of my dependency.  They were my obligation.  Can I feel that way about sharing the gospel with gentleness and respect?  I think so.  It is certainly growing.  Am I willing to think critically yet sometimes to appear foolish?  Yes.  I’m obliged both to wise and fools.  Am I willing to try to remove myself from the strong gravity of my culture and upbringing?  Yes.  I’m obliged both to Greek and non-Greek (barbarian meant those beyond the scope of the Roman Empire at its apogee).

So, am I eager to preach the gospel to you who are in Rome?  Yes I am.

Pascal

–1:16

 

One comment

Thoughts?